Via Afrika – Scent Of Scandal


Via Afrika exploded onto a jaded and unsuspecting public in 1983. Fusing dance beats, whistles, chants, nu-wave synths, dub bass, and ethnic rhythms, they were an instant hit with both (white) pop and (black) African radio, a rarity in those musically segregated times.

Via Afrika`s second and final album includes some great photos, liner notes, and a live track from the legendary Concert in the Park.


01. Vice in Bombay
02. Caprivi Strip
03. Mimi Kama Kanga
04. Zanzibar
05. Death on the Nile
06. Jelly Wobble
07. Maleficent
08. Vice is nice (Dub)
09. Hey Boy (Live at Concert in the Park 1985) (Bonus Track)