No Friends of Harry – The Present Has Passed


Formed in Johannesburg in 1986, No Friends of Harry rightly claims the title of South Africa’s first and most influential alternative/goth band, thanks to heavy rotation (primarily on Barney Simon’s Shadow Show on Radio 5) and constant live appearances.

Fiercely independent and driven by Annette McLennan’s insistent drumming and Rob’s deep, growling vocals, the band released three albums (“One Came Running” (1987), “Into The Valley” (1989) on Principal, and “Fifteen Seconds” (1991) on Clear Cut).

The Kings and torchbearers of mid-’80`s South African alternative rock. This compilation gathers together┬átheir best tracks with rare photos and liner notes.


01. Competition Rules
02. A Long Way Home
03. On The Beach
04. The Underground
05. Some People
06. Present Has Passed
07. True In A Way
08. Our Father
09. Paint It Black
10. Into The Valley
11. Time
12. I Lose Faith
13. Sun Wash Over Me
14. One Day At A Time
15. Taking A Trip (To Somewhere Else)